The Clerical Alphabet: Problems in Austen’s Church of England By Brenda S. Cox

https://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/2020/07/09/the-clerical-alphabet-problems-in-austens-church-of-england-by-brenda-s-cox/

http://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/?p=30403

It will, I believe, be everywhere found, that as the clergy are, or are not what they ought to be, so are the rest of the nation.”—Edmund Bertram in Mansfield Park Richard Newton’s “Clerical Alphabet” satirizes the English clergy of Austen’s time. You may be familiar with cartoonists, or caricaturists, of the eighteenth century like […]

Jane Austen Virtual Event-BRLSI, July 4, 2020

https://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/2020/07/02/jane-austen-virtual-event-brlsi-july-4-2020/

http://janeaustensworld.wordpress.com/?p=30394

The Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institute (BRLSI). BRLSI is a respected non profit organization set up 200 years ago as a centre for Enlightenment ideas and intellectual discussion in Bath, England (where Jane Austen lived!). The Institute is having a virtual lecture this Saturday July 4th at 7.30pm British time (2.30pm ET, 11.30am PST) […]